Contrast

the bleakness in your crystal clear blue sky
the hot tears falling from those tired green eyes
if your grief had name—you could give it form…
is it me you’d see?
you fool yourself but can’t fool me
the fault, the blame, your misery
I know you think it
you know you think that
it’s probably me

but…

“If the night turned cold and the stars looked down
and you hug yourself on the cold cold ground
you wake the morning in a stranger’s coat
no one would you see
you ask yourself, who’d watch for me
my only friend, who could it be
it’s hard to say it
I hate to say it, but it’s probably me”

Written by Matthew – 2016
Excerpt from It’s Probably Me ~ Sting
© 2016 This Mortal Flesh

2 thoughts on “Contrast

Leave a Reply

