Hell

flame

flame

here in this fire I pain
lamenting life’s choices
my failure to believe
my unwillingness to submit

what was life if not mine
a cruel test I’ve come to find
Scopes monkeys in a cage
Syrian rats in malaise

condemned for my confusion, yet
fed on fermented fruit as mother’s milk
too many blurred lines to know, as
puzzle pieces loom just beyond my reach

wretched sorrow is now mine
here the haze is lifted from the blind
scores of tormented souls come to find
the answer was always your mind

Written by Matthew – 2016
© 2016 This Mortal Flesh

 

12 thoughts on “Hell

  1. How did I not see this before? I’m confused coz I’ve visited on occasions to see if your break was over 😁
    Anyway, yes! The dark is definitely your friend, hence why you speak its tongue fluently and beautifully – and it’s mine too, but I don’t speak it as fluently as you. Powerful piece 💜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

