Divergence – Duet With Manan Unleashed

portrait..love this. Dont always need eyes to tell a story...:

I miss you when I don’t even have you
You had me yet you don’t miss me
I guess I was a fool to have believed
That you would never let go of me

from my arms you have gone
but did you fall or were you tossed
from my mind never have you fled
ever innocence, framed in a closed room

Did I fall or was I tossed around
by the winds of change that blew on you
everyday I hungered for your arms
that now no longer cradled me thus

β€˜tis a sad truth that cold winds may blow
to spite the brightest of summer days
warm comforts flee as clouds fall, and
the flowing heart ebbs with forming frost

Never once did i stop loving you though
come harsh winds or torrents of rain
frost may have chilled your heart
I never let winter come upon me

you wield a strength I have never possessed
eschewing wicked and tempestuous gales with ease
but the knees of my heart buckled and strained
I simply could not look into your pure eyes again…

Written by Matthew and Nandita (italics) – 2016
Β© 2016 This Mortal Flesh
Photo at https://www.pinterest.com/pin/376683956308350017/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How did I get so lucky to do two in a row with the lovely and talented Nandita? She is the brilliant mind behind Manan Unleashed and this Poetess really is something special. I’m happy and thankful that she chose to spend a large portion of her weekend with me writing. Thank you my soul-sister!

27 thoughts on “Divergence – Duet With Manan Unleashed

  1. Matthew, I really had a great time. You are so right. You and I get so well together stylistically. Thank you for those really warm words for me. Brilliant mind unleashed? πŸ™‚ Heart poured out. You are an amazing partner.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Y’all did a beautiful word dance…
    Though sadness and longing dips and sways throughout, it was a joy to read.
    You know, I’ve often wondered why emotional turmoil seems to be the driving force behind poetry…or maybe it’s just the kind I seek out…???
    Great work, Matt–or do you prefer Matthew?

    Liked by 3 people

  3. This is incredible, heartbreaking, beautiful. I can relate to this on more levels than I’ll ever admit. You are both amazing. ❀ ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

