Evasive Maneuvers… (w/audio)

chronicity and complacency
oh enemies of progress
what consequence has inaction wrought
willfully bound and excuse ridden
my vector has been altered
to a collision course

the console has been locked
“I cannot allow you to do that Matthew”
the robotic voice in my head warns
as I try to take control
I know there is a manual override
for the love of good—there must be

frantically I try to rewire
old fingers attempting to work
with the alacrity of a youth
for I must disengage from this course
the sun has no sympathy for the aged
it would gladly consume the last of me

my instrumentation is fried
how many more miles to impact?
I breathe and clear my mind
this is it—red to white
control is now mine
but can I escape the gravity

or will I crash and burn…

Written by Matthew – 2015
© 2015 This Mortal Flesh

38 thoughts on “Evasive Maneuvers… (w/audio)

  1. I saw much in this, Matt. The battle between mind and body. Pressures from society. Thoughts colliding with actions, colliding with inner demons and the need for control.

    An incredibly powerful piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My favorite lines:

    frantically I try to rewire
    old fingers attempting to work
    with the alacrity of a youth
    for I must disengage from this course
    the sun has no sympathy for the aged
    it would gladly consume the last of me

    You have a knack for such dark tones and visual style of writing.
    I very much love what you’ve done with this poem.

    Excellent my new friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ooh! You read one! What a lovely voice you have. I’m so glad you let us hear you read. This is an awesome poem. I don’t write it but I love scifi. It’s my favorite genre actually. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry I missed this – wow, oh wow – fantastic! Dare I say your voice is damn sexy, adds such a drama to this piece. “Willfully bound and excuse ridden”, everything about this. *Just perfect.* Well done my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

