Loss

all he has had
all he ever will
surrounds him
in that final moment

the wrenching pallor
as a lance to my eyes
lifeless and still-breathing
is the shell of a man gone

I stare at loss
I grieve for life
which must bear witness
to the price we all pay

my heart breaks
for the weeping widow
for the masking child
who suppresses the pain

I call to mind joy
speak aloud the happy memories
though they lend aid
the remedy is short lived

this mortal coil—endless
for in resting death
pain abounds
as his shadow crosses our hearts

                                                                                               

Matthew – 2015
© 2015 This Mortal Flesh

R.I.P. Otis. You will never be forgotten by this generation.

32 thoughts on “Loss

  1. Beautiful and heartfelt…I could feel the pain of every word.
    I’m so sorry for your loss. The passing of those we love is never an easy thing, but it is inevitable. I’m not religious–some would even call me a heathen–but I believe our spirit never dies, just takes a fork in the road that leads to a different existence.
    “Nobody’s Hero” is a sad, touching song. But don’t you think even the most ordinary among us is somebody’s hero?
    Kathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

