Remember

Vicarious perceptions
reversal of direction
down the synaptic causeway
to feel the essence
remember a time
when life unfettered
soared

in briefness I remember
causing total surrender
of all my wise aged notions
the eyes of my child
see the same world
as once did I friend
free

free to laugh and play
never bound by toiling day
blind to life’s charade

Now…
we call it ADHD
no more tolerance have we
for life is hard fought and won
we must remember…
that nothing has changed…
that we just grew up…

Lets…
refill our cup of patience
call to mind our own nascence
that carefree time blinks away
but it once was ours…
their experience
forges their future

give them their season
let them soar within reason
perhaps gold can stay…

Written by Matthew – 2015
© 2015 This Mortal Flesh

17 thoughts on “Remember

  1. This is just exquisite. Your words are so lovely. All of them touched my heart and soul, especially the last ones…
    ‘Give them their season
    let them soar within reason
    perhaps gold can stay…’
    Thank you for sharing and inspiring me. Oh, and Stay Gold is my FAVORITE Stevie Wonder song, perhaps my favorite song ever. I remember watching the movie ‘The Outsiders’ over & over again and recording the song because I couldn’t find it anywhere else. I memorized the poem also. Wow, you brought back some glorious memories. Beautiful posts and blog. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Remember | Just a Girl Lost 2

  3. Pingback: A beautiful and inspiring poem with one of my most favorite Stevie Wonder songs, ‘Stay Gold’This is an amazing blog poetreluctantprophetspeaks.wordpress.comby a poet whom I have had the pleasure to discover just today. :)Thank you, my sweet be

  4. Pingback: A beautiful and inspiring poem with one of my most favorite Stevie Wonder songs, ‘Stay Gold’This is an amazing blog poetreluctantprophetspeaks.wordpress.comby a poet whom I have had the pleasure to discover just today. :)Thank you, my sweet be

Leave a Reply

