Deluge

to be made to feel worthless
when you know otherwise
to be falsely accused
when you are blameless
the kindling emotions
is overwhelming

the true heart searches first
for validity to the claim
the humble heart ready
willing to accept the blame
when no fault is found
darkness begins to take hold

anger pours in like a deluge
busting the levee
rushing toward the town
but there is only one
who deserves the wrath
just one that should suffer

the anguish should not be physical
if only I had the power
to plague your mind
as you have plagued mine
if only I could watch
as you eat yourself alive

but I am not you
my heart would ache for you
I would feel regret
I would drown with you
in sorrowful self hatred
so I write it hereβ€”so I leave it here

Matthew – 2015
Β© 2015 This Mortal Flesh

26 thoughts on “Deluge

Leave a Reply

