Hammer of Thor

Norse air bites—stinging flesh
tattered sails catch wind still
long gone days blow anew
as huntsmen forge fjords
green and purple ribbons
ripple through frozen night
beyond fringes—Asgard
hidden from reach of man


yet sail away they must
for long winter has come
venturing through Midgard
to lands of heat and fire
Jormungand hides in depths
his jaws of death await
impassable this realm
but for hammer of Thor…

My first try at Skaldic Poetry – http://www.hurstwic.org/history/articles/literature/text/Skaldic_Poetry.htm.
All photos were found online and I do not take any credit for them.

Matthew – 2015
© 2015 This Mortal Flesh

10 thoughts on “Hammer of Thor

  1. My first time ever seeing ‘Skaldic’ poetry.. Very nicely written, an easily enjoyable read 🙂 I’ve followed, and would be honoured to hear your thoughts on some of my works on my blog (mainly short stories, a bit of poetry, and got a novel in the works). Keep blogging and have a good day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Its a fun write, plus I got to post some really cool pictures! Thanks for the follow. I hope you get a chance to check out some of my other pieces. I would love to check out some of yours. I’m slightly tired but will read some now and more tomorrow if I can.

      Cheers!

      ~Matt

      Like

  2. Loved the poem!
    About Reader messing it up, I think it is a current issue. I have always copied my text to WP from a Notepad document and end to have slightly less posting issue because of it, tossing it out there in case it helps you.
    Now, waiting for more of the poetry 🙂 Hope you have a nice day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

